Popular Countries

Booker Prize 2019: Atwood and Evaristo announced joint winners

By Gagandeep Sokhey . 15th October 2019 01:51pm
Booker Prize 2019: Atwood and Evaristo announced joint winners

For 2019, the Booker Prize for Fiction is awarded to Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo jointly. The Canadian author, Margaret Atwood has won the Booker Prize for 'The Testaments' whereas the Anglo-Nigerian, Bernadine Evaristo has won for the 'Girl, Woman, Other'.

The Judges along with Peter Florence, the director of the Hay Literary Festival have broken the Booker Prize rule and split the award sharing with both Atwood and Evaristo. 

booker prize 2019

The Booker Prize is a high profile literary award that is greeted every year for the best and original novel written in the English language and published in the United Kingdom. This prize provides the base and is of great significance for the book trade.

The name comes from the company Booker, McConnell Ltd who began sponsoring the event in 1969 and the award was originally known as the Booker-McConnell Prize and now known as the Booker Prize or Booker.

booker prize 2019

At the ceremony held in Guildhall, London, the director shared that these two novels cannot be compared as they are both phenomenal and will surely delight the readers for ages to come.

margaret atwood booker prize

Atwood has won this award for the second time and she will share the 50,000 Pounds Prize money with Bernardine at the event held at a 50th-anniversary ceremony at London's Guildhall. The Booker Prize for Fiction award has been shared earlier in history in the years 1974 and 1997.

Margaret Atwood was honoured for her best-selling novel sequel which was a 1985 dystopian classic called 'The Handmaid's Tale' and she shared that she got very surprised on receiving this award as she thought of being too elderly.

bernardino evaristo booker prize

Evaristo also responded and shared that she feels incredible to share the award with Margaret Atwood, who is such a legend. She also shared the fact that she is the first black woman to win this prize and her prize money will help her to pay off her mortgage.

Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale which was nominated for the 1986 prize, became an award-winning TV series in 2017. The sales of the novel topped eight million copies worldwide.

She wrote 'The Testaments' as a sequel to her first novel and answer the reader's questions about what had happened to the characters in 'The Handmaid's Tale'.

Evaristo's 'Girl, Woman, Other' focuses on the tale of 12 women who belonged to black British families with their roots in across Great Britain, Africa and the Caribbean. This is a must-read about the modern look of Great Britain and focusing on Womanhood along with being energetic and a touch of humor.

booker prize 2019 nominations

The other nominated novels for the Booker Prize were:

Lucy Ellmann - Ducks, Newburyport
Chigozie Obioma - An Orchestra of Minorities
Salman Rushdie - Quichotte
Elif Shafak - 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World