Popular Countries

"influenced by Modi", Yogeshwar & Sandeep join BJP

By Gagandeep Sokhey . 26th September 2019 08:00pm

Wrestler and Padma Shri Yogeshwar Dutt and former Indian Hockey captain Sandeep Singh have joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday. Both Olympics medalists chose to follow PM Narendra Modi's ideology going into the Haryana Assembly Elections where both will be (most likely fielded). 

yogeshwar dutt sandeep singh joins bjp

BJP chief Subhash Barala was present at their joining ceremony and the timing of the joining has been rather peculiar given the Assembly Elections are just one month away (October 2019)
Yogeshwar Dutt

Yogeshwar Dutt has won a bronze medal in the 60 kg category at the Summer Olympics which were held in the year 2012 which were held in London, United Kingdom. 

yogeshwar dutt joins BJP

Later, he also received Padma Shri award from the Government of India in the year 2013 and won a gold medal in the XIX Commonwealth Games which were held in Delhi in the year 2014.
In the Press conference, he said "I want to serve the people. I’ve been influenced by Modji and hence I decided to join BJP. I’ve been following him for a long time. It’s important to come forward to do good work, including sportspersons. I’m happy to be part of this family," 

Yogeshwar Dutt is usually called with his nickname Yogi or Pahalwan Ji and was born to a family in Sonipat district in Haryana. 

Sandeep Singh

Sandeep Singh is an ex-captain of the Indian National Hockey team and serves as a Penalty Corner Specialist for the team with his full-back style. 

He is also known as "Flicker Singh" as per the media and also holds a DSP rank in Haryana Police.

sandeep singh joins BJP

He belongs to a family from Shahabad, a small town near Kurukshetra in Haryana and completed his education in Shivalik Public School, Mohali. 

"I have been following BJP for a long time. I’ve been influenced by PM Modi. I’ve been influenced by the capability and integrity of ML Khattar. I want to serve the nation in every way. I will serve country and party in all earnestness," Sandeep Singh said.

Under the captaincy of Sandeep Singh, the Indian Hockey team managed to win Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in the year 2009 after defeating Malaysia and this win gave India the title after almost 13 years.  Sandeep Singh also remained as the top goal scorer during this tournament and received Man of the Tournament award. 

sandeep singh joins BJP

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) MLA Balkaur Singh has also joined the BJP along with Sandeep Singh and Yogeshwar Dutt.