Popular Countries

Virat Kohli retains No.1 position in ICC Test rankings displacing Steve Smith

By Gagandeep Sokhey . 5th December 2019 10:00am
Virat Kohli retains No.1 position in ICC Test rankings displacing Steve Smith

Virat Kohli almost lost his top spot after Australia's Steve Smith gave a remarkable performance in Ashes Test cricket, but regained it back because of Smith's poor show in the recent series against Pakistan.

Kohli has done it again and proved he is the remarkable and fastest batsman India has. He scored 136 runs in the Pink ball test series in Kolkata against Bangladesh last month and reached 928 points. This makes him retain on the top spot as Smith gained 931 points in the Adelaide test match but his poor performance reduced the points to 923.

virat kohli

ICC has officially tweeted about Kohli's top spot which reads as "Virat Kohli back to No.1!" and also shared Top 10 batsman as per the rankings,

top 10 batsmen icc test rankings

Do take a look at some of the other players and where they stand in the ICC rankings:

# Cheteshwar Pujara is at fourth spot while Ajinkya Rahane stands at sixth position
Jasprit Bumrah is enjoying the highest-placed Indian among the bowlers at fifth position
# Senior off-spinner R Ashwin is at ninth spot
# Australia's opener David Warner on fifth position
# Fast bowler Mitchell Starc is on 14th position
# Pakistani middle-order batsman Babar Azam is on 13th position
# Pakistani left-handed opener Shan Masood is on 47th position
# Left-arm fast bowler Shaheen Afridi is on 49th position as he is one of the stars of the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2018
# England's captain Joe Root is on 7th position
# New Zealand's Ross Taylor reached 16th position among the batsmen
# West Indies captain Jason Holder is at third place

Though Steve Smith's points have dropped due to his poor performance in the recent Test series against Pakistan, he still hopes to get a chance to improve his ranking as Australia will play two more Test matches against New Zealand. These test matches will start from December 12 onwards.