Dharmendra the ‘He-Man’ of Indian Cinema has given us numerous hit movies. From Sholay to Dharam Veer, Baghavat, Pratigya, Yamla Pagla Deewana and many others will soon be awarded the prestigious Raj Kapoor Lifetime Achievement Award. The award is presented by the Maharastra Government every year to actors for their excellent contribution to Cinema.

The news came when Maharashtra Culture Minister Vinod Tawde announced it on Monday. His tweet read,

“Delighted to announce veteran actor Dharmendra ji as the recipient of Maharashtra State’s Raj Kapoor Lifetime Achievement Award and Director Rajkumar Hirani on being selected for the Raj Kapoor Special Contributions Award. Congratulations!”


Raj Kumar Hirani

Along with Dharmendra, filmmaker Rajkumar Hirani will receive the Raj Kapoor Special Contributions Award. Rajkumar Hirani is known for award-winning films like 3 Idiots, Munna Bhai MBBS and PK. Both the lifetime achievement awards carry a citation and cash reward of Rs 5,00,000, while the special contribution awards carry a citation and Rs 3,00,000 cash prize each. The state government-instituted awards will be given away at the 55th Maharashtra State Marathi Film Festival.

On the work front, Dharmendra is ready with the third installment of Yamla Pagla Deewana which also stars his sons Sunny Deol and Bobby Deol.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here